>Victoria A. Hudson Emerging Writer Scholarship at the San Francisco Writers Conference


Announcing the winners of the Victoria A. Hudson Emerging Writer Scholarships in Fiction, Non-fiction and Poetry for the San Francisco Writers Conference 2011:

Randall E. Hosilyk- Laguna Woods, CA
H. Rachelle Graham- Taylorsville, Utah
Breean Lowe- Castro Valley, CA
The following writers were runner-ups. There is no prize however they are congratulated for the excellence of their submissions:

Elisa Garcia- Missouri City, TX
Hilary Smith- Venice, CA
Allison Moon- Oakland, CA
Kristy Shelton- Napa, CA
Ulla Mentzel- Novato, CA
Each year Victoria A. Hudson sponsors three scholarships for cost of registration to attend the San Francisco Writers’ Conference, one each in Fiction, Non-fiction, and Poetry. This year there were over 30 entries. Each writer submits a short essay and a sample of their work. Initial selections are based upon the quality and content of the essay with final selections or tie breaker based upon the quality of the writer’s submitted work. 
All writers that submitted work for consideration are due acknowledgement and congratulations for entering and sharing their writing. This is the first year that the quality of submissions warranted recognition of runner up writers as well as the selected winners. While the runner ups receive no prize, the quality of their work is recognized. 

Leave a comment

Filed under emerging writer, SFWC, writer, writer conference, writing life

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s